“LOVE ON ITS KNEES:” INTERCESSORY PRAYER

“LOVE ON ITS KNEES:” INTERCESSORY PRAYER

BY Dave Earley

The effective work of Christ on earth is never the result of just one person. It is almost always the fruit of a team of people, some serving on the front lines and others back home . . . all of them working together. One of the absolute most strategic ministries for all missionary advance is intercessory prayer.

Love on its knees” is the definition and description Dick Eastman gives to intercessory prayer. 1 Such prayer seeks the best for others before the throne of God and brings their needs to the One who has the answer.

One of the unsung heroes of Grace City is Becky King. Becky does not live in Las Vegas. She lives in Virginia. Yet, she influences the ministry in Las Vegas daily as she practices intercessory prayer. Becky is a graduate of Liberty Baptist Theological Seminary and a member of Thomas Road Baptist Church. She is a small woman who prays very big prayers!

427151

I asked Becky to write part of this report in order to give you some insight into how her prayer ministry on behalf of Grace City works. I think reading it will help you realize the essential, behind- the-scenes role that intercessors play in God’s kingdom.

“At times I have been awakened from a sound sleep and the words coming out of my mouth would be ‘God, please protect Dave Earley.’ I am not even aware of the fact that I am praying. The Holy Spirit seems to pray through me while I sleep.

I am thankful that God knows what Dave faces and that His precious Holy Spirit can be praying perfect prayers that I have no clue are even taking place! I know whatever He prays through me is always right on target and always gets answered! 

3:00-4:00AM appear to be especially important times to pray for Dave Earley! I don’t know what kind of battles he faces during those times of the morning, but it is always such an intense matter of spiritual warfare. I feel like I am doing battle with the devil over Dave. I pray often for his safety and protection. I pray for him to not have demonic attacks and nightmares while he is sleeping. I ask the Lord that when he lays down at night, His arms would be on that mattress so that when Dave lays down he is literally encircled in God’s hands while he sleeps.

So many times I find myself praying for Dave Earley to be protected. It’s almost as if someone is trying to harm him or he is in some personal or spiritual danger. Intercession seems to make me feel the same feelings he is experiencing. I literally feel like I am afraid, or being pursued, or in danger. It’s a really weird emotion, like stepping into the actual encounter myself.

Intercession is hard but so worth it if it helps Dave be strengthened. I find myself continually asking the Lord to not allow Satan to harm him physically, emotionally, mentally or spiritually! I ask the Lord to place a hedge of protection around him and for no one to hurt him. 

Praying for Dave Earley is a regular occurrence now. I find several nights in a row I wake up at the exact same time, so I go to the living room and ask God to please move for Dave Earley! I pray for strength and encouragement, safety and protection. I will pray for at least an hour and a half before I feel like it releases somewhat. This happens every week.

I am amazed that God’s loving care for one of His children is so great that He will wake another one of His children up to pray for them! How loving He is! What a good Father!! I am totally encouraged that He will go to any length necessary to meet the needs of one of His soldiers. I ask that the Lord may always use me to pray for him.”

Becky is not our only intercessor. We are blessed to have people from all over the world praying for us. I am very humbled by their ministry and am extremely grateful for each of them.

Maybe God is calling you to be an intercessor.

1Dick Eastman, Love On Its Knees (Old Tappan, NJ: Chosen Books Pub Co, 1989), 1.

About dbearley

Dr. Dave Earley is the Lead Pastor at Grace City Church in Las Vegas, NV. Prior to pastoring in Las Vegas, he taught at Liberty University for 5 years. Before Liberty University, Dave was the founding sr. pastor of the New Life Church of Gahanna-Columbus, Ohio. New Life started in his basement with 12 people and grew to nearly 2,000 in weekly attendance with over 100 small groups. (www.enewlife.com). New Life has intentionally sent out five healthy daughter churches since 1999. Dave, and his wife, Cathy, have three highly active sons, Daniel, Andrew, and Luke, who will all be graduating from Liberty University in May, 2011.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “LOVE ON ITS KNEES:” INTERCESSORY PRAYER

  1. So wonderful to hear about Becky! It gave me chills as I read her story. How precious for Dave to know this woman prays for his protection daily. Just a wonderful story to read!

Leave a Reply

